PDA

View Full Version : Event code help - copy row to another sheet

airla
10-18-2006, 06:12 PM
While I have used Excel for years... I am very new to macros and VBA (very new)

Our entire office is struggling with this cumbersome spreadsheet that we use for purchasing. We have to sift throgh a ton of products and select those which we want to purchase by entering a quantity in the appropriate column. Then sift through it again and either write out a list of products by hand or copy and paste them into another sheet to print and send out to vendors for quotes.

What we would "like" it to do is when a # is typed into the "quantity" column, the rows information would automatically copy to the next row in another sheet set up as a quote sheet.

Looking at the spreadsheet might help with understanding what we want.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

johnske
10-18-2006, 08:26 PM
Hi airla,

Welcome to VBAX. I've edited your thread title to reflect what you actually need (i.e. code for a worksheet event that will do what you want) this should better get the attention of those able to help - something that just says (basically) "Help" doesn't help in getting it :)

Regards,
John

airla
10-19-2006, 04:55 PM
Thanks! Wasn't sure what to call it. :P

Bob Phillips
10-19-2006, 05:05 PM
Every row (in your example they are identical) or just the first?

airla
10-20-2006, 09:59 PM
We choose which items to purchase by placing a quantity in the Quantity "L" column of the appropriate row. We only need to copy rows we choose to purchase. The rows are not identical. Each product has a "parent part #" and additional part numbers within that family are numbered accordingly. For instance part # ABC0123 could have a "bulk #" (ABC0123B), several "package #'s" (ABC0123Q5, ABC0123Q10) etc. I'm not sure exactly what you are asking here, but I hope that answered your question.

Norie
10-21-2006, 10:55 AM
airla