PDA

View Full Version : Solved: [auto]Sort Different Worksheet

thomaspatton
10-23-2006, 09:14 AM
version : MS Office Excel 2003 (11.8105.8107) SP2

First, I'm a complete newb to VBA. I've never done work with it and honestly don't currently have the time to learn the little nuances. It's taken me long enough to learn about Excel formulas using the Help menu. Anyway, whining aside, here's my problem.

I attached a sample of what I'm currently working for my Unit. It has 1 Master Roster [worksheet] that has 3 Reports [worksheets] linked to it. This is done through the cell formulas. Each Report sheet needs to be sorted by column A, B, or C corresponding to the Master Roster. I left my "Record a Macro" macros in there to maybe clarify this. The macros work perfect for what I need WHEN I'm viewing the Master Roster. However, what I'm trying to figure out is either :

A) Place a macro button on the individual Report sheets to sort the Master Roster according to the requirements for that Report.

B) Have the report Sheets automatically sort when viewed, based on the sorting requirements for that Report.

Like I've said, the closest I've gotten is the "Record" function that does it when I add a button on the Master Roster sheet. But when I add a button with the same macro to the Report sheets, it tries to sort that Report sheet. I went through the help files and tried editting my macros with Worksheet("Master Roster").Range("A3:T100"), but all that accomplished was to give me my queue to finally ask for help, lol.

If someone can help me out with a macro for the first report, I'm pretty confident I can change the references for the rest of the reports. I just can't figure out how to edit my macro's appropriately or make it autosort on open, if that's even possible with something like this.

Any help, even a finger in the right direction, would be immensely appreciated.

SGT Patton

lucas
10-23-2006, 10:18 AM
There are better ways to do this but the first problem I see...