PDA

View Full Version : Solved: Adding Word count programatically to footer?

Simon Lloyd
10-24-2006, 11:55 AM
Hi all, is there a way of automatically including word count in the footer on each page, i have some experience using VBA but in excel not word.

Regards,
Simon

fumei
10-24-2006, 12:10 PM
A word count of what?

Simon Lloyd
10-24-2006, 12:57 PM
Sorry for not being clear, i want the word count of the document im working on, meaning all the main body of of the document not headers and footers. My assignments have to have a word count, i dont mind if each page has the word count for that page, rather than the total either way i dont mind.

Thanks for the speedy response!

Regards,
Simon

fumei
10-26-2006, 01:35 PM
is this for a school assignment?

Simon Lloyd
10-26-2006, 02:46 PM
Haha I havent been to school for 24 years!!!, no its for my girlfriends assignment she's typing she has to have the page word count in the footer of each page, i was just trying to save her the trouble of doing it manually!

Regards,
Simon

fumei
10-27-2006, 02:37 AM
Sorry, but you have a problem.

You can get a page count of any page the Selection is on with:Dim oRange As Word.Range
Dim intWordCount As Integer
Set oRange = ActiveDocument.Bookmarks("\page").Range
intWordCount = oRange.Words.Count
Set oRange = NothingSo, OK you have the word count of whatever page the Selection is on.

The problem lies in the way Word is designed regarding pages and Sections. Page numbers are objects of the footers. Footers are objects of the Section.

Say you have 10 pages, one Section. Even using Different first page, and Different odd/even, the maximum number of DIFFERENT footers in that document is three.

Page 1 word count = x
Page 2 (even) word count = y
Page 3 (odd) word count = z
Page 4(even).....word count = y AS IT WOULD USE THE SAME FOOTER as page 2.

That is, unless you made every page = one section. Then, yes you could do it.