Consulting

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Solved: Excel VBA invokes Word

Solved: Excel VBA invokes Word

Hi,

I'm a newbie, so excuse my ignorance... It was very difficult for me to get here! I write mainframe assembler... OO VBA is just a little different!

The objective is to use a VBA macro in Excel to kick off a Word document, and to change some words (placeholders) in this document to values that come from the spreadsheet.

The included code only attempts to make 1 change, and it dies with an error 449 from VBA. Here is the code:

[VBA]
    Private Sub WordTest()
    Dim rcMsg As Integer
    Dim tCell As Long

Dim wrdApp As Word.Application
    On Error GoTo errHandler

rcMsg = MsgBox("WordTest 2.3 has been entered")

Set wrdApp = New Word.Application

' wrdApp.Visible = True

rcMsg = MsgBox("WordTestBefore Open")

wrdApp.Documents.Open Filename:="c:\chuck\Recap.doc"

rcMsg = MsgBox("WordTest Before Selection.Find.Clear...!")

wrdApp.Selection.Find.ClearFormatting

rcMsg = MsgBox("WordTest Before FIND.Repl!")

wrdApp.Selection.Find.Replacement.ClearFormatting

rcMsg = MsgBox("WordTest Before WITH!")

With wrdApp.Selection.Find
    .Text = "AAAAAQ01"
    .Replacement.Text = "Charleston Square"
    .Forward = True
    .Wrap = wdFindContinue
    .Format = False
    .MatchCase = False
    .MatchWholeWord = False
    .MatchWildcards = False
    .MatchSoundsLike = False
    .MatchAllWordForms = False
    End With

rcMsg = MsgBox("WordTest Before Selection.Find.Execute!")

wrdApp.Selection.Find.Execute

rcMsg = MsgBox("WordTest Before With wrdApp.Selection!")

With wrdApp.Selection
    If .Find.Forward = True Then
    .Collapse Direction:=wdCollapseStart
    Else
    .Collapse Direction:=wdCollapseEnd
    End If
    .Find.Execute Replace:=wdReplaceOne
    If .Find.Forward = True Then
    .Collapse Direction:=wdCollapseEnd
    Else
    .Collapse Direction:=wdCollapseStart
    End If
    .Find.Execute
    End With

rcMsg = MsgBox("WordTest... Before Prt!")