Consulting

Thread: get cell address without the $'s

get cell address without the $'s

Hello All,

I've been programming for a few years now but have never used Excel VBA until a couple days ago when I was asked to automate some processes.

I'm trying to create a string variable that contains the name of the cell (eg. A4, AB456, etc.) I will then call on it later to go back to that point
    using Range(variableName).Select

I have found .Address, but when I call it instead of giving me A4 it gives me $A$4.

So I have 2 questions

1) Is there some other function I can call that will give me the address I'm wanting?
    2) If not, is there a way I can manipulate the string so that I can remove the $'s? I have tried replace but I'm afraid I keep getting the syntax wrong.

thanks for your help!

Administrator
    Chat VP
    To remove the dollars use this syntax... Selection.Address(0, 0)
    You know you're really in trouble when the light at the end of the tunnel turns out to be the headlight of a train hurtling towards you

The major part of getting the right answer lies in asking the right question...

Made your code more readable, use VBA tags (this automatically inserts [vba] at the start of your code, and [/vba ] at the end of your code) | Help those helping you by marking your thread solved when it is.

Administrator
    VP-Knowledge Base VBAX Grand Master mdmackillop's Avatar
    For more info, check the Address Property in VBA Help. Note that this is not installed by default.
    MVP (Excel 2008-2010)

Post a workbook with sample data and layout if you want a quicker solution.

To help indent your macros try Smart Indent

Please remember to mark threads 'Solved'

fantastic!

thanks for the quick replies.

this is exactly what I needed.