Consulting

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: copy from Word to Access

copy from Word to Access

Trying to copy active word document contents to a field in Access w/one button click, using late binding.

I've gotten this far, but it doesn't work. I'm not a programmer, so I can only pick my way thru and pull stuff from other code I've downloaded, so speak down to me please!

Dim objWord As Object
     Dim objDoc As Object
    Set objWord = GetObject(, "Word.Application")
     objWord.Visible = True
    Set objDoc = objWord.activedocument
    objDoc.Selection.HomeKey Unit:=wdStory
    objDoc.Selection.Extend
    Me!TxDetails.SetFocus Paste
    Thanks in advance,

Ed
    Last edited by Aussiebear; 03-26-2023 at 11:13 AM. Reason: Adjusted the code tags

Welcome to VBAX!

[uvba]a[/uvba] I've taken the liberty of editing your post for that.
    Ken Puls, CMA - Microsoft MVP (Excel)
    I hate it when my computer does what I tell it to, and not what I want it to.

Learn how to use our KB tags! -||- Ken's Excel Website -||- Ken's Excel Forums -||- My Blog -||- Excel Training Calendar

This is a shameless plug for my new book "RibbonX - Customizing the Office 2007 Ribbon". Find out more about it here!

Help keep VBAX clean! Use the 'Thread Tools' menu to mark your own threads solved!

thanks for the tip and the welcome! I'm much more familiar on Jeep boards

You say "... copy active word document contents ..."

Do you want to run this from Access or Word? And will either or both applications be open? And if Word is open, will the document you want be open or do you want to open it, or do you want to select it from a file list? And what version of Access and Word are you using? Also you seem to want to copy into a control on an open Form - is this correct?

I guess what I'm saying is can you give a bit more detail please?
    Enjoy,
    Tony

---------------------------------------------------------------
    Give a man a fish and he'll eat for a day.