Consulting

Thread: Execel, OLEObjects (buttons) sometimes not firing, triggering

Execel, OLEObjects (buttons) sometimes not firing, triggering

AHH. You would not believe how long I've looked and looked for someone else with this problem but, alas, I am here to ask away on a forum. If anyone can help I will be very very greatful. Know that you'd be making a young man somewhere in the midwest very happy.

Context: This is my first time with VBA. I've taken one collegiate class about programming, but I'm definately a newbie.
    Problem: OLEObjects stop firing sometimes (by firing I mean that when they are clicked, an event is not triggered). By "sometimes", I mean I know certain procedures cause the objects to stop firing - other times it seems random.
    Details: I have an Excel workbook has quite a few OLEObjects on it for navigation and all-around ease of use for the user. Each OLEObjects has its own, unique name and event (a <Name>_click() event, though many of these click events call the exact same procedure). And so, at all times, even when the OLEObjects aren't firing as they should, I always have correctly labelled OLEObjects and <Name>_click() events that should 'find each other (?)'.
    Specific Case: The following code deletes all objects named "ItemButton"&<Name> (this "Name" is a number). Once that is done, it immediately re-creates the deleted OLEObjects and then creates one more (so you end up with 5 if you started with 4 - 1 new and the initial 4 should be the same as before). When this code is run, usually the 4 initial OLEObjects don't fire, whereas the new one will. This isn't always the case, but it's the most consistant example I can give.

[vba]Sub A_A_Utility_PrintBox_Populator()
    Application.ScreenUpdating = False
    Call A_A_Utility_UnlockAllSheets
    ActiveWorkbook.Unprotect
    Dim M As Long
    Dim I As Long 'Hght As Long
    Dim Name As String, NName As String
    Dim blnMasterValue As Boolean