Consulting

Thread: Access 2007 Programming By Example

Access 2007 Programming By Example

Access 2007: Programming By Example With VBA, XML, And ASP

Currently I'm only about 1/3 of the way through this book, as I am actually working through it, but it has been such a good resource that I decided to post a review.

This is a very good book for anyone who is new to Access programming, or someone with moderate experience who wants to learn more. This is not a book for total beginners, as it does not cover any of the basics, such as creating a table, Form basics, creating simple Queries, etc. This is only a programming manual.

The book starts out very simply with basics about procedures, modules, and the VBE. It works you through a steadily increasing learning curve that can become challenging, but is very beneficial.

Some topics covered in the first 9 chapters are:
    • Variables, Data Types, and Constants
    • Passing Arguments to Procedures and Functions
    • Loop structures and Case selects
    • Working with Arrays
    • Custom Collections and Class Modules
    • Debugging and Error Handling
    In later chapters the book will step you though the various methods and uses of DOA and ADO connections, and how to use these methods to access and manipulate records.

As the title states, the book will also take you through the uses of XML and ASP with Access, but I haven't gotten there yet.

Since this is a 2007 book, it does explain all of the new features of the .accdb format type, but it also covers the previous (and still widely used) .mdb format. All methods in the book (that apply) show .mdb and .accdb versions. Also the ribbon is covered in detail, along with a chapter that deals exclusively with customizing and controlling the ribbon.

Cons:

Like every good reviewer, I've got to point out the bad stuff too