Consulting

Thread: Solved: Outlook Macro - Move All 'Deleted Items' to Personal Folder - Almost Works!

Solved: Outlook Macro - Move All 'Deleted Items' to Personal Folder - Almost Works!

Almost got it working but something eludes me. I can get it working if I just make it move active selected items but that's not what I want it to do. Basically I want it to just sweep all items from my exchange Inbox - Deleted Items into 'Deleted Items Archive' - Deleted Items folder which is a personal folder.

Here's what I have thus far and it runs with no explicit errors however it doesn't do anything. I know it's not very clean and I'm quite new to VB

Please advise

[VBA]Sub MoveDeletedItems()
    ' Move selected messages to "Deleted Items" folder in "Deleted Items Archive" personal folder.
    On Error Resume Next
    'Dim and Set
    Dim objFolder As Outlook.MAPIFolder
    Set objFolder = Outlook.Application.GetNamespace("MAPI").Folders("Deleted Items Archive").Folders("Deleted Items")
    Dim objTrash As Outlook.MAPIFolder
    Set objTrash = Outlook.Application.GetNamespace("MAPI").Folders(olFolderDeletedItems)
    Dim objItem As Object
    'End Dim and Set
    'Move Items
    For Each objItem In objTrash
    If objFolder.DefaultItemType = olMailItem Then
    If objItem.Class = olMail Then
    objItem.Move objFolder
    End If
    End If
    Next
    'End Move Items
    'Cleanup
    Set objItem = Nothing
    Set objFolder = Nothing
    Set objInbox = Nothing
    Set objNS = Nothing
    'End Cleanup
    End Sub[/VBA]

You should be setting objTrash to Outlook.Application.GetNamespace("MAPI").Folders(olFolderDeletedItems).item s , which is the collection of items in your deleted items folder.

To get a reference to the deleted folders items I would actually use:

Outlook.Application.Session.GetDefaultFolder(olFolderDeletedItems).items

but either way should work...

Thank you for the clarification on setting objTrash. I have updated my macro to include that.