Consulting

Thread: Solved: Visual C++: Loops Question

Solved: Visual C++: Loops Question

When I try to debug the code below I get the following error message:
    "error C2061: syntax error : identifier 'intCounter'"
    The error points to the line of code with the while keyword.

What am I doing wrong with this do...while loop structure?

[vba]
    private
    : System::Void Form1_Load(System::Object^ sender, System::EventArgs^ e) {
    Int16 intCounter = 0;
    Int16 intArray[] = {1,2,3,4,5};
    do
    {
    String^ strMsg = gcnew String(intArray[intCounter].ToString());
    MessageBox::Show(strMsg);
    }while intCounter < 5;

}
    [/vba]
    -Randy Shea
    I'm a programmer, but I'm also pro-grammar!
    If your issue is resolved, please use Thread Tools to mark your thread as Solved!

PODA (Professional Office Developers Association) | Certifiable | MOS: Access 2003

As stated in an earlier post my C++ is very rusty. Are you incrementing the intCounter?
    [VBA]while (intCounter < 5);[/VBA]

Yes, I am... I just neglected to include it.

I can't believe the solution was as simple as encasing the parameter of the 'while' keyword in parentheses!

Here's the working code:

[VBA]
    private
    : System::Void Form1_Load(System::Object^ sender, System::EventArgs^ e) {
    Int16 intCounter = 0;
    Int16 intArray[] = {1,2,3,4,5};
    do
    {
    String^ strMsg =
    gcnew String(intArray[intCounter].ToString());
    MessageBox::Show(strMsg);
    intCounter ++;
    }
    while (intCounter < 5);
    }
    [/VBA]
    -Randy Shea
    If your issue is resolved, please use Thread Tools to mark your thread as Solved!

PODA (Professional Office Developers Association) | Certifiable | MOS: Access 2003

Administrator
    2nd VP-Knowledge Base
    ...I can't believe the solution was as simple as encasing the parameter of the 'while' keyword in parentheses!...