Consulting

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Solved: Access 2007 CSV Import Utility

Solved: Access 2007 CSV Import Utility

Hi,

I am relatively new to VB and trying to write a CSV import utility that imports data in an Access database.

I have created a form in Access 2007 with two buttons browse and import. The browse button brings up a selection dialog to import the file and the import button imports the data from csv file to the database.

Here's how my code looks like.

Option Compare Database

Dim importFile As String

Private Sub BrowseButton_Click()

Dim fDialog As Office.FileDialog
       Dim varFile As Variant

Set fDialog = Application.FileDialog(msoFileDialogFilePicker)
       With fDialog
          'Allow user to make multiple selections in dialog box.
          .AllowMultiSelect = False

'Set the title of the dialog box.
          .Title = "Please select one file"

'Clear out the current filters, and add our own.
          .Filters.Clear
          .Filters.Add "Text files", "*.txt"

If .Show = True Then
             'Loop through each file selected and add it to the list box.
             For Each varFile In .SelectedItems

'TxtBoxImport has the location of the file to be imported
             TxtBoxImport.SetFocus
             TxtBoxImport.Text = varFile

Next

End If
       End With

End Sub

Private Sub ImportButton_Click()

Const adOpenStatic = 3
    Const adLockOptimistic = 3
    Const ForReading = 1

Dim recordExits As Boolean
    Dim noRecords As Integer
    Dim logFile As String

Dim currentTime As String
    Dim hour As String
    Dim minute As String
    Dim second As String

hour = DatePart("h", Now)
    minute = DatePart("m", Now)
    second = DatePart("s", Now)

currentTime = Format(Now(), "yyyymmdd")

'create logfile with timestamp
    logFile = CurrentProject.Path & "\DataImportLog - " & currentTime & "_" & hour & minute & second & " PM.txt"
    MsgBox (logFile)
    Open logFile For Output As #1