Consulting

Thread: Solved: Delete Duplicate Query

Solved: Delete Duplicate Query

As much as I enjoy a good wizard, I would like to get a little more familiar with writing the SQL on my own, not to mention that I can't seem to understand the instructions for the duplicate wizard. It never returns all the duplicates.. or the ones that I think would be duplicates.

I want have a process that creates records, but I want to clean it up afterwards by deleting the duplicate record.

The table has an ID, StructID, CRFID, VendorID, CustID, INVNbr, Amt, Date

The ID would be the only unique entry. So if the StructID, CRFID, VendorID, CustID, INVNbr, Amt, and Date are all the same, I just want the first record.
    Someday I'll understand everything...
    Even then...I'll still pretend I'm a beginner.

Okay... just did some investigating and it appears that I want to do something you cannot do in SQL. Deleting duplicates deletes all duplicates leaving you with nothing.

I came up with this though:

DELETE Exists (SELECT REQUEST.ID, REQUEST.Recur_Invc_NBR, PLANS.Plan_Type, PLANS.RequiresInvoiceValidation
    FROM TBL_CRF AS REQUEST INNER JOIN TBL_COMMISSION_PLAN_TYPE AS PLANS ON REQUEST.Commission_Plan_Type = PLANS.Commission_Plan_ID
    WHERE (((PLANS.RequiresInvoiceValidation)=-1) AND (REQUEST.ID = COMMISSIONS.FK_CRFID) AND (QUEST.Recur_Invc_NBR <> Commissions.InvoiceNBR))) AS DeleteItem, COMMISSIONS.CommissionType, *
    FROM TBL_COMMISSIONS_Earned AS COMMISSIONS
    WHERE (((COMMISSIONS.CommissionType)="Recurring") AND ((Exists (SELECT REQUEST.ID, REQUEST.Recur_Invc_NBR, PLANS.Plan_Type, PLANS.RequiresInvoiceValidation
    FROM TBL_CRF AS REQUEST INNER JOIN TBL_COMMISSION_PLAN_TYPE AS PLANS ON REQUEST.Commission_Plan_Type = PLANS.Commission_Plan_ID
    WHERE REQUEST.ID = COMMISSIONS.FK_CRFID
    AND REQUEST.Recur_Invc_NBR <> Commissions.InvoiceNBR))<>False));

It gets pretty ugly.
    There are three tables that I'll need to pull from
    REQUEST, COMMISSIONS, and PLANS