Consulting

Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Workbook locking up

  1. #1
    Moderator VBAX Master austenr's Avatar
    Joined
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    1,979
    Location

    Workbook locking up

    This is getting very frustrating. I have the WB open and the VBE as well. Everything is fine for a while switching back and forth but eventually, if you go and click on the task bar to see the WB, all that you see is the top of the window where it says Excel and the name of the WB along with the max, min and "X".

    Then the whole PC locks up. Anyone ever encounter anything like this and how to fix it? Thanks
    Peace of mind is found in some of the strangest places.

  2. #2
    Moderator VBAX Guru Simon Lloyd's Avatar
    Joined
    Sep 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,003
    Location
    How much memory do you have on your PC?
    Do you have many volatile formulae?
    What are you doing at the time it locks up?
    Regards,
    Simon
    Please read this before cross posting!
    In the unlikely event you didn't get your answer here try Microsoft Office Discussion @ The Code Cage
    If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants.
    Isaac Newton, Letter to Robert Hooke, February 5, 1675 English mathematician & physicist (1642 - 1727)

  3. #3
    Moderator VBAX Master austenr's Avatar
    Joined
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    1,979
    Location
    4gb ram
    couple of hundred formulas but only in code
    just trying to switch to the workbook from the editor
    Peace of mind is found in some of the strangest places.

  4. #4
    Moderator VBAX Guru Aussiebear's Avatar
    Joined
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Queensland
    Posts
    3,817
    Location
    None of the RAM is faulty at all?
    Remember To Do the Following....
    Use tags when posting code to the thread,
    Mark your thread as Solved if satisfied by using the Thread Tools options.
    If posting the same issue to another forum please show the link

  5. #5
    Moderator VBAX Guru Simon Lloyd's Avatar
    Joined
    Sep 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,003
    Location
    What version of Excel are you running, 2003 and prior can and will only consume up to 1Gb of ram but later versions i believe will use whatever resource they need.

    take a look at Jon's site, although it doesn't mention fixing crashes it may help with the amount of memory you consume.
    http://www.decisionmodels.com/linkssites.htm
    Regards,
    Simon
    Please read this before cross posting!
    In the unlikely event you didn't get your answer here try Microsoft Office Discussion @ The Code Cage
    If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants.
    Isaac Newton, Letter to Robert Hooke, February 5, 1675 English mathematician & physicist (1642 - 1727)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •