Consulting

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: Solved: Help with word macro design...

VBAX Regular
    Solved: Help with word macro design...

Hello everyone,

I'm new to VBA, however I am really excited at the potentional of having a lot of cool things in the documents that I create. Right now I have two hurdles that I am trying to over come. The first is changing a birth date into an age that is representated in years and weeks. I use the following formula in excel, but would like a way to use this in a word document. The document will be printed out and become part of a patients medical record.

=ROUND(((TODAY()-A1)/365.25),0)&" years "& ROUND(((((TODAY()-A1)/365.25)-INT((TODAY()-A1)/365.25))*52),1)&" weeks "

This seems to work pretty good, but it would be cool if I could type in the birth date and have a macro covert it to an age. Any thoughts on how I can approach this from a VBA prospective?

Second, while the document has a lot of typing on it that standard, I would like to be jump between points on the document instead of moving the mouse and then clicking on where I need to add stuff. I tried creating a form which worked o.k., but the inflexibility of being able to edit stuff outside of the fields was unacceptable for a medical record. Again any thoughts on how VBA might be able to solve this would be apperciated.

Thanks

Steve Dennis

VBAX Wizard

2. Could you clarify / expand your requirements for navigation? You state "jump between points". OK, but that means nothing really. WHAT points? Thnik this through. If you want to jump between points, what is the first thing you need?

Answer? Points. Which means.....you need to define, or declare, a location that IS a point. Right? What makes, say the beginning of the fourth paragraph a "point" and the beginning of the tenth paragraph NOT a point?