Consulting

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: Code Integration Query

Smile Code Integration Query

Hi guys, I am new to vba and I am trying to learn it. I am a writer and i want to create a vba that compares two paragraphs for duplication. If duplication if found the sentence being duplicated will be highligted into different colors, example i found 5 duplicate, i want to see also five colors in the output so that i can easily count the number of duplicated sentence fragments or phrases. I found a code that do exactly what i need only that it cannot set a lenght of matching parts and it has only two colors for highlighting duplicates. I created a userform that contains 2 rich texbox, the first box is for the source and the second box is for the article to be compared in the source. I also put a command button "Compare". I also put a combo box so that i can select the minimum lenght of matching part. Below is the code i found:

[vba]

Sub Compare()

Const NMin As Long = 7
    Dim R As Range, W As Range
    Dim C As Range, C2 As Range, N As Long

Set R = ActiveDocument.Content

For Each W In R.Words
    If W.HighlightColorIndex = wdNoHighlight Then
    N = NMin

Do
    Set C = W.Duplicate
    C.MoveEnd wdWord, N
    If C.End = ActiveDocument.Range.End Then Exit Sub
    Set C2 = ActiveDocument.Range(C.End, ActiveDocument.Range.End)

Select Case True
    Case Len(C.Text) > 256, _
    C.HighlightColorIndex = 9999999, _
    C2.Find.Execute(FindText:=C.Text, Wrap:=wdFindStop) = False

If N > NMin Then DoHighLight C
    Exit Do

Case Else
    N = N + 1

End Select
    Loop

End If
    Next
    End Sub

Sub DoHighLight(C As Range)

Dim C2 As Range

C.MoveEnd wdWord, -1
    C.HighlightColorIndex = wdYellow
    Set C2 = ActiveDocument.Range(C.End, ActiveDocument.Range.End)
    While C2.Find.Execute(FindText:=C.Text, Wrap:=wdFindStop)
    C2.HighlightColorIndex = wdRed
    Wend

End Sub

Public Sub Show()
    frmMain.Show
    End Sub

[/vba]