Consulting

Thread: Dependent Drop Down List

Dependent Drop Down List

Hello,

I am a complete noob but very much looking forward to learning.

I have two drop down lists which contain names. I would like to be able choose an item in the first list and, that this action, prompts the second list to choose the same item.

I have seen code which populates different choice, but being a noob, I haven't been able to figure out how to simply copy the first choice.

I would very much appreciate one of your beasts to help me.

--Mellowest.

VBAX Wizard
    I have two drop down lists which contain names. I would like to be able choose an item in the first list and, that this action, prompts the second list to choose the same item.
    Are you saying the choice made in the first dropdown FORCES the second dropdown to become the same choice? Are the items in both dropdowns exactly the same?
    how to simply copy the first choice.
    Not sure what you mean by copy.

Plus, what kind of "dropdowns" are you using? For example, are they text formfields in the document? In which case, yes you certainly can do what you ask with OnExit macro - when you leave one formfield (dropdown), makes the other dropdown formfield have a given value.

Why do you want two different things to have the same value, especially if they are identical (they have the same list)?

Hello Fumei,

Thanks for your response. They are formfields, basically a list of client names that are repeated throughout the document.

Yes, on exit from the first, the second should have the same value.

As to your question: the form is used hundreds of times by dozens of people; it would be great timesaver.

I hope this is clearer than my first attempt. Thank you.

VBAX Wizard
    "As to your question: the form is used hundreds of times by dozens of people; it would be great timesaver. "