Consulting

Thread: code for inserting textbox at cursor point

VBAX Newbie
    code for inserting textbox at cursor point

Hello all and thank you in advance for any help.

I've been creating macros to help me make math tests and worksheets (I am a HS math teacher). I am trying to learn the code for inserting a textbox or shape near the cursor in a word document. The macro I have for inserting a text box is

Dim Shp As Shape
    Set Shp = ActiveDocument.Shapes.AddTextbox( _
    Orientation:=msoTextOrientationHorizontal, _
    Left:=120, Top:=120, Width:=288, Height:=72)
    Shp.TextFrame.TextRange.InsertSymbol Font:="+Body", CharacterNumber:=9679, Unicode:=True
    Shp.line.Visible = msoFalse
    Shp.Fill.Visible = msoFalse
    Shp.Width = 36#
    Shp.Height = 36#
    Set Shp = Nothing

I know the AddTextbox(_Orientation...) code determines where the textbox is inserted, and I have tried to find code that would place the text box on the current page or at the cursor. I've had no luck, and I would appreciate any advice.

I have seen some code that uses "InsertAfter," but I couldn't get anything to work. Thanks again for any help.

Microsoft Word MVP 2003-2009 VBAX Guru gmaxey's Avatar
    Left and Top defined the coordinates from the shape location. All you need to do is determine where the IP is:

[VBA]Sub InsertTB()
    Dim Shp As Shape

Set Shp = ActiveDocument.Shapes.AddTextbox(1, fcnXCoord, fcnYCoord, 288, 72)
    With Shp
    .TextFrame.TextRange.InsertSymbol Font:="+Body", CharacterNumber:=9679, Unicode:=True
    .Line.Visible = msoFalse
    .Fill.Visible = msoFalse
    .Width = 36#
    .Height = 36#
    End With
    Set Shp = Nothing
    End Sub
    Function fcnXCoord() As Double
    fcnXCoord = Selection.Information(wdHorizontalPositionRelativeToPage)
    End Function
    Function fcnYCoord() As Double
    fcnYCoord = Selection.Information(wdVerticalPositionRelativeToPage)
    End Function[/VBA]
    Greg

Visit my website: http://gregmaxey.com

VBAX Newbie