Consulting

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Macro to plot in AutoCad Lite 2004

Administrator
    VP-Knowledge Base
    Macro to plot in AutoCad Lite 2004

I'm trying to assist a colleague with an AutoCad project, but I know nothing about coding for this application, or even if it can be done with this version.

I have a number of tables of degrees and distances from a pipeline survey and I would hope that with a simple macro, I could get AutoCad to import the data and draw these lines. Ideally, I would like to place a cross or other marker at the end of each line, but this is not critical. The data is in Excel, but can be exported to a text file etc. if this is simpler to handle.

Regards
    MD
    MVP (Excel 2008-2010)

Post a workbook with sample data and layout if you want a quicker solution.

To help indent your macros try Smart Indent

Please remember to mark threads 'Solved'

This cannot be done in AutoCad Lite. I could write a script to run, draw lines setup dwg etc, write dxf, however you want. The main problem is AutoCad Lite will not take Autolisp, VBA, ARX or anything else. Anyway this can be done, just not the obvious way.

Unless you specify differently the degrees is the direction of travel and the dist is the length of travel. THe start point will be 0,0 unless specified otherwise, a cross with a circle will be inserted at each intersection(point).

Does each row represent a line that is attached to the line represented by the row above it?

Hope you can understand what I'm getting at. I don't think they would all start at the same point of origin?

Also is measurement in meters, miles, etc. or does the unit matter?

I think Tommy and I were posting here at the same time....
    Steve
    "Nearly all men can stand adversity, but if you want to test a man's character, give him power."
    -Abraham Lincoln

Glad you showed up.
    Steve
    "Nearly all men can stand adversity, but if you want to test a man's character, give him power."