Consulting

Thread: Help with Loop

Help with Loop

Hello,
    I am new to VBA and am trying to enter an array into a loop. The initial array formula I used, and entered into the cells directly, was this:

=IFERROR(INDEX(Color!$A:$A, SMALL(IF(ISBLANK(Color!$A:$A)+ISERROR(Color!$A:$A)++IF(Color!$B:$B<>A$1,1,0 ), "", ROW(Color!$A:$A)-MIN(ROW(Color!$A:$A))+1), ROW(1:1))),"")

I would then copy and paste this formula down the column until all the rows with data would be filled, and then I would copy it across the columns (to the right) so all the columns would contain the formula. Obviously, a better way to do this would be to create a loop using VBA, correct? I am very new to VBA and tried to create a code that would do this but I cannot get it to work. This is what I have so far:

[VBA]Sub Color()
    Worksheets("Dates").Activate
    Range("A2").Select
    Do
    Selection.FormulaArray = _
    "=IFERROR(INDEX(Color!$A:$A,SMALL(IF(ISBLANK(Color!$A:$A)+ISERROR(Color!$A: $A)++IF(Color!$B:$B<>A$1,1,0), """", ROW(Color!$A:$A)-MIN(ROW(Color!$A:$A))+1), ROWS(ActiveCell.Row - 1))),"" "")"
    ActiveCell.Offset(1, 0).Select
    Loop Until IsEmpty(ActiveCell.Offset(1, 0))
    End Sub[/VBA]

Any suggestions??
    Thanks,
    Amy
    Last edited by Aussiebear; 04-13-2013 at 05:14 PM. Reason: Added the correct tags to the supplied code

Moderator VBAX Guru Simon Lloyd's Avatar
    Not tested but i just fixed your formula, give it a go[VBA]Sub Color()

Range("A2").Select

Do
    Selection.Formula = _
    "=IFERROR(INDEX(Color!$A:$A,SMALL(IF(ISBLANK(Color!$A:$A)+ISERROR(Color!$A: $A)++IF(Color!$B:$B<>A$1,1,0), """", ROW(Color!$A:$A)-MIN(ROW(Color!$A:$A))+1), ROWS(" & ActiveCell.Row & " - 1))),"" "")"

End Sub[/VBA]
    Regards,
    Simon
    Please read this before cross posting!
    In the unlikely event you didn't get your answer here try Microsoft Office Discussion @ The Code Cage
    If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants.