Consulting

Thread: Rolling Calculation

Rolling Calculation

Hi,
    I'm completely new to VBA and have quite a complex task to carry out. So far I have been doing ok, however I need to calculate a variable using rolling windows... Let me explain. In one worksheet I have 30 rows of data, each row represents a time series of daily returns differences. In the next worksheet I would like to calculate a time series for each row using the formula below

TE=((1/(n-1))*(ept-eptAverage)^2)^0.5

Where ept is the variable in the rows, e(ptaverage) is the average of all observations above, and n is the number of observations up to e(pt)
    I am not sure how to go about this since I have to do this for 30 different rows, each different lengths.

In the workbook below, the first worksheet has the data and the second has the first three calculations to illustrate the formula.

Can anyone help?

Thanks
    Attached Files Attached Files

Assuming that the formulas in Calculations! rows 2, 3, & 4 are correct, Place this formula in Calculations(A1) and copy it down as far as needed. (Select A1 and the area it needs to be in and press Ctrl+D)

=IF(OR(Data!A1="",Data!A1=0),"",((1/COUNT(Data!A$1:A1))*(Data!A1-SUM(Data!A$1:A1)/COUNT(Data!A$1:A1))^2)^0.5)
    Further assuming you want each column in Calculations to calculate it's corresponding column in Data, After you have the formulas all the way down in Column "A", Select from Column "A" to Column "AE" and press Ctrl+R to fill all columns and rows with the correct formula.

When a cell address in a formula has a $ in front of the column letter or row number, the letter(s) or number following the $ will not change no matter where you paste it.

The same thing can be done in VBA code to give a much smaller file size, but I think it would be slower to operate. I just filled your example Calculations with the formula from A! to AE1700 and it took less than a minute to finish.
    Last edited by SamT; 08-10-2013 at 04:00 PM.