Consulting

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: Excel VBA Programmer Interview

Question Excel VBA Programmer Interview

Hello guys,

I have been around this forum for a while; also I have studied on my own. So its safe to say I am an ok Excel programmer. I have been taking some programming classes at school and I am on my way to get my Bachelors in Computer Science, application development (I have not taken the major courses yet)

So a few days ago I applied for a job online and they want to hire me. I am extremely scared. This would be my first job as an Excel programmer.

For the professionals out there, what do they usually ask in this kind of interviews?

How much do you need to know say I am able to do this job? I mean I can do most of the things, but is it ok if I look things up online or use a reference book; mostly I know where to look, its not like I am looking for something totally blind.

Is using Macro recording to get some method and properties considered cheating? what if you supervisors sees you going online to research something?

Thanks a lot for the help
    Feedback is the best way for me to learn

Follow the Armies

If they know your history, then they know that you are a noob.

What you are not is an OK Excel /VBA programmer. You are a noob. Own that fact. Make yourself say it in the mirror every day before work. Accept that you will make mistakes. Say that in the mirror too.

After about 1000 hours programming, you can graduate to Newbie status.

I have maybe 3000 hours in VBA for Excel. On an apprentice scale of 1 to 7, that only makes me about a a Level 4 Apprentice Excel Progmammer and still a noob at all other Office programs. However those 3000 hours will carry over as soon as I accumulate another 1000 hours in all the other Office applications. That would make me a Level 4 Apprentice MS Office programmer. Note that that does not make me qualified to design worksheets, 'cuz "I know nuttink" about Excel Worksheet Functions.