Consulting

Thread: Word 2010 Can VBA actually do what i need ?

VBAX Regular
    Word 2010 Can VBA actually do what i need ?

Hello All,

I am totally new to VBA and Macros and so I am unsure that what I need to do is even possible and is probably too ambitious.

I create dozens of similar documents and I am trying to find a way to automate the process. What I would like to do is develop a base template document that has all of the sections anyone could possibly need with formatting and tables, etc..

I have already create a UserForm with the choices for the different headings and the required AutoText (building blocks?) but its linking the users selection to populate a word document at correct point is an issue.

I presume this would be done with Bookmarks and AutoText or Building Blocks ?

By section, I meant heading and content such as:
    1. Main Heading

1.1 Sub Heading
    1.2 Sub Heading
    1.3 Sub Heading

2. Main Heading

2.1 Sub Heading
    2.2 Sub Heading
    2.3 Sub Heading

So the user would click on 1. Main Heading and 1.2 Sub heading if they wanted those two sections in their new document.

Is this actually possible or is this too ambitious for VBA?

If this isn’t possible, can anyone suggest an alternative way to perform a similar task?

Any help or guidance the experts can offer would be greatly appreciated

hope this makes sense

Bartrum

Microsoft Word MVP 2003-2009 VBAX Guru gmaxey's Avatar
    It is certainly possible to make something work. Paragraphs and tables in a document are indexed. So if you template contains all of the paragraphs and tables, then it is just a matter of keeping the ones the user selects and deleting the rest working from the end of the document to the start:

Private Sub CommandButton1_Click()
      'Working from the end of the document to the start
      If Not chk_T2 Then ActiveDocument.Tables(2).Delete
      If Not chk_T1 Then ActiveDocument.Tables(1).Delete