Consulting

Thread: Find/Replace conditionally. Branch if bold.

VBAX Newbie
    Find/Replace conditionally. Branch if bold.

I'm new to VB and mail merging, so my terminology may be a little off. Thanks for understanding.

So, I have a word doc that I use to make sale signs. I'm using mail merge to pull the product brands, sizes, sale prices, savings, etc from excel. There is a mix of font sizes and styles all throughout the file.There are four signs (records) per page. I'm using a macro to format the sale prices, because I want the "cents" portion of the price to be superscript and a smaller font size than the "dollar" portion. I'm using the macro, because the sale price is a single cell in excel and gets pulled into word with uniform formatting. The way that I got my find/replace working is to have the sale price italicized and have italics be my gating condition for the search.

The problem now is that I have a second, similar file with slightly different requirements, and I'd like to handle with this same macro. I want the find/replace to act on all italicized text. If that text is not bolded, then set the cents to a certain font size. If the text IS bolded, then the cents should be set to a different size.

At the end of the macro, I remove italics and bold from the sale price.

Here's what I have, along with some pseudocode at the branching point. This has to be a simple operation, but I can't get it to work. Can you help?

Sub Format_4up_Sale_Price()'
    ' Format_4up_Sale_Price Macro
    '
    '

Dim newsize As Integer

Selection.Find.ClearFormatting
        Selection.Find.Font.Italic = True
        Selection.Find.Replacement.ClearFormatting

With Selection.Find
            .Text = ".[0-9][0-9]"
            .Replacement.Text = ""
            .Forward = True
            .Wrap = wdFindContinue
            .Format = True
            .MatchCase = False
            .MatchWholeWord = False
            .MatchAllWordForms = False