Consulting

Thread: VBA-highlight cell(s) in a column range if empty or greater than a value

VBA-highlight cell(s) in a column range if empty or greater than a value

I am using Excel 2010 (x32). I am new to VBA and trying to create some VBA conditional formatting to be used as data validation. The first column is a data column. I want to fill a cell red if it is empty or orange if the cell is greater than a value in cell B4 on another sheet named "Instructions". I have created the following but it is not working. Any suggestions? Also, instead of the named range of "A2:A2552", can I use a do until or do while loop to accomodate a growing range?

Private Sub Worksheet_Change(ByVal Target As Range)
        Dim icolor As Integer
        Dim cell As Range

If Intersect(Target, Range("A2:A2552")) Is Nothing Then Exit Sub

For Each cell In Target
            icolor = 0
            Select Case cell
                Case Is > Range("Instructions!B4"): icolor = 3
                Case "": icolor = 45
            End Select

If icolor <> 0 Then cell.Interior.ColorIndex = icolor
        Next cell
    End Sub
    Last edited by SamT; 11-12-2015 at 10:21 AM.

'Assumes all changes are by the user entering a value

If Intersect(Target, Range("A:A")) Is Nothing Then Exit Sub
    If Target.Count > 1 Then Exit Sub 'Prevents running on simultaneous changes

With Target
      Select Case .Value
        Case Is > Sheets("Instructions").Range("B4")
          .Interior.ColorIndex = 3
        Case "": .Interior.ColorIndex = 45
      End Select
    End With
    End Sub
    Dim Cel As Range 'Cell is a keyword, do not use Keywords as variables
    Dim DataRange As Range
    Dim Maxx As Double

Set DataRange = Intersect(Target, Range("A:A"))
    If DataRange Is Nothing Then Exit Sub

Maxx = Sheets("Instructions").Range("B4").Value
    'Why look it up more than once

For Each Cel In DataRange
      With Cel
        Select Case .Value
          Case Is > Maxx
            .Interior.ColorIndex = 3