Consulting

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: Using ADO with Excel

VBAX Regular
    Using ADO with Excel

Goodmorning everyone,
    my first post on this awesome forum, and yet a question for you experts
    First of all, I'm not a programmer nor a coder, of any type... but I'm playing with VBA from some months.

So, the problem: in our company we need a practical way to manage components database, and thus to compile data sheets with them.
    All the job has been manually done for years, one excel sheet per component (~ 600), and data sheets compiled manually row by row, component by component.

Now I decided to optimise this tedious and unsafe method:
    • I put all the components in ONE file organised like a database (from now let's call it DATA_SOURCE)
    • I created a model of data sheet (from now let's call it COMPILED) to be populated with data from DATA_SOURCE

Obviously every data taken from DATA_SOURCE have to be refreshable, in order to keep always everything up to date.

And here the problems.... as not a programmer, I probably miss the basis of everything about it!

What I have so far:
    • DATA_SOURCE, an xlsm file with 20 sheets (one for each component type), and every sheet has a table and a named range (to sort from)
    • COMPILED, another xlsm file, with a custom form to choose components from

Now, in COMPILED I've set up an user form with some combo box to select components
    User form connect to DATA_SOURCE via this string:
        cnn.ConnectionString = "Provider=Microsoft.ACE.OLEDB.12.0;" & _
            "Data Source=" & matWb & ";" & _
            "Extended Properties=" & Chr(34) & "Excel 12.0;IMEX=1;HDR=YES;ReadOnly=1;" & Chr(34)
    and with recordsets and some other code enables other combo boxes etc....
    It works quite fine... but is this the right way??