Consulting

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: VBA to Add 3 Aligned Footers with Custom Formatting and Text

VBA to Add 3 Aligned Footers with Custom Formatting and Text

Hey all,

I'm completely new to VBA, and have been assigned an unusually difficult (at least to me) task.

I have an excel file that already has a Macro written to create a formatted word document (this was given to me). I need to create a complex footer for this created word document. The footer must show the File Path (left justified), as well as "Page 1 of X" (right justified) and some text such as "***TEXT HERE*** that will be center justified, one line above the other two footers (so the file path can be long, and not run into this text).

This is pretty far over my head, the only VBA/Macro's I've done before have been simple. I don't the code for creating the doc, just to add and edit this footer.

This is all I could figure out, and (obviously) it does essentially none of what I need it to do...

[VBA]

With ActiveDocument.Sections(1)
    .Footers(wdHeaderFooterPrimary).Range.Text = "File Path"
    .Footers(wdHeaderFooterPrimary).PageNumbers.Add _
    PageNumberAlignment:=wdAlignPageNumberRight, _
    End With
    [/VBA]

Thanks in advance!

FooterExample.jpg
    Last edited by NoIdea; 05-27-2016 at 11:46 AM. Reason: Fix BA text

Administrator
    VP-Knowledge Base
    Simplest way is to create a Word template containing the Path and Page Numbering footers. For the text footer, use a document field, such as title and pass this to the template, something like the following (extracted from code I use for similar)

wdApp.Visible = True    'Make the application visible to the user (if wanted)
        Set MyDoc = wdApp.Documents.Add(Template:=P2W)
        Application.ScreenUpdating = False
        MyDoc.SaveAs Pth & TextBox4 & ".doc"
        wdApp.Selection.Paste
        Application.CutCopyMode = False
        wdApp.Run "FixLayout"   'This runs a Word Template macro
        With MyDoc