Consulting

Thread: If, And, Or

VBAX Regular
    Question If, And, Or

This is my If statement:

=IF(AND(H14="Ghana",OR(J14="Master",J14="Doctorate", L14="Master",L14="Doctorate")),"No","Yes")

If they are from Ghana they must have a Master or Doctorate degree in one or both the J and L column, if they have the higher degree true value is No (do not reject), false is Yes (reject)

But it's not working. I'm not good with nesting IF statements. I'm surprised I got this far. Do you mind helping me correct this?

=IF(AND(H14="Ghana",OR(J14="Higher",L14="Higher")),"No","Yes")

Either one (Redundant but clearer, IMO)
    =IF(AND(H14="Ghana",OR(OR(J14="Master",J14="Doctorate"), OR(L14="Master",L14="Doctorate"))),"No","Yes")
    I expect the student to do their homework and find all the errrors I leeve in.

Please take the time to read the Forum FAQ

VBAX Regular
    NOPE, NOPE, I would have never figured this out. Three "or" no way. Thank you so much. I was hoping I just made a small mistake. LOL It's working great. Thank you again.

VBAX Regular
    Sorry I as wrong in when I said it's work (well what you gave me is working): But I think I still have something wrong in H4 "Ghana" the formula is reading all of column H as Ghana.

H4 will be a variety of countries. Only people from Ghana require the Master or Doctorate. It looks like the formula is only reading the or part of the statement.

=IF(AND(H4="Ghana",OR(OR(J4="Master",J4="Doctorate"), OR(L4="Master",L4="Doctorate"))),"No","Yes")

Only people from Ghana require the Master or Doctorate.
    All others get a "No"

=IF(H4="Ghana",IF(OR(J4="Master",J4="Doctorate",L4="Master",L4="Doctorate") ,"No","Yes"),"No")

VBAX Regular

VBAX Regular