Consulting

Thread: IIF Expression returning unexpected results with dates

IIF Expression returning unexpected results with dates

Hello everyone,
    Want to start off by saying I am total noob, I know someone smarter than myself would have set things up a little differently but what can you do. Thanks for looking please continue below.

I am running access 2016 on win 7

I have a column in my table that has dates (surprise). I was working on a query that would assign a value to a new column/field we will call date catch. If a date from a record fell between my desired range I'd want to assign a value of one to my new field Date Catch, if not then a value of zero would be assigned. Also I'd like blank dates to have a value of zero as well.

Here is what I used:
    Date_Catch: IIf([Actual_Insp_Date] Between 10-1-2016 And 11-1-2016 Is Not Null,1,0)

In future I will use something along the lines of

Date_Catch: IIf([Actual_Insp_Date] Between [Start Date?:] And [End Date] Is Not Null ,1,0)

My Query assigns a value of 1 to everything that isn't null and I can't figure out why. I will continue to research this out on my own but some pointers in the right direction would be very helpful. *I should note that I am building this Query in design view*

If I can provide any specific examples/resources or if I need to clarify anything please let me know!

Thanks in advance!
    ~B

I don't know if I was clear before. All dates cause a value of "1" to be assigned, not just the dates that fall into my parameters.

Thanks

VBAX Guru
    you say "I have a column in my table that has dates (surprise).", are they actual Date Type fields or text fields that look like dates?
    Second I am not sure what the is not null is actually doing, so what is it's purpose?

IIf([Actual_Insp_Date] Between 10-1-2016 And 11-1-2016 Is Not Null,1,0) Returns True (1) or False (0)

IIf([Actual_Insp_Date] Between 10-1-2016 And 11-1-2016 Is Not Null,1,0) Then Date_Catch = Now, or whatever