Consulting

Thread: Move Files to SubFolders

VBAX Regular
    Move Files to SubFolders

I've exhausted my efforts to solve this on my own. I'm fairly new to scripting and I'm hoping someone with more experience can point me in the right direction.

I have a script that creates thousands of images in one folder. At the end of the script I'd like to sort the images into subfolders. The script successfully creates the subfolder and I can move the file if i use the exact path. But I need something that will work on variable filenames.

When i save the file i use this script with success...
    "-SaveRenderWindowAs ""C:\Rendermation\renders\" & folderIdx.name & "_AccentGem" & ".png" & """"
    The folderIdx.name successfully uses a name that changes per file.

When I move the file into its subfolder...
    This script works fine (defining the exact path)
    Set fs = CreateObject("Scripting.FileSystemObject")
    fs.MoveFile "C:\Rendermation\Renders\perspective_Ring_Solitaire_Marquise_6X3mm.3dm.png" , "C:\Rendermation\Renders\Ring_Solitaire_Marquise_6X3mm.3dm\"

However, if i replace this line, it fails...

fs.MoveFile "C:\Rendermation\Renders\perspective_" & folderIdx.name, "C:\Rendermation\Renders\" & folderIdx.name & "\"

This is the error.
    "Microsoft VBScript runtime error"
    "Object required:'folderIdx'"

Any ideas?

Jill

Distinguished Lord of VBAX VBAX Grand Master Bob Phillips's Avatar
    Surely, folderIdx.name refers to perspective not to Ring_Solitaire_Marquise_6X3mm.3dm.png

Abusus non tollit usum

Last night I dreamed of a small consolation enjoyed only by the blind: Nobody knows the trouble I've not seen!
    James Thurber

VBAX Regular
    Ring_Solitaire_Marquise_6X3mm.3dm

I add the perspective when i save the file.

This is the portion that creates the folder where I want to move the files.

For Each folderIdx In files

'create folder to save the renders
    If Not folderexists(strFolder & "\renders\" & folderidx.name) Then