Consulting

Thread: Variable Not Defined, Excel 2013 & 2007

Variable Not Defined, Excel 2013 & 2007

I have searched on the internet and can't quite find what I need. I have a master template sheet with many toggle buttons, text boxes, and combo boxes. The master sheet gets copied and renamed from a userform. The toggle buttons, text boxes, and combo boxes on the new sheet then get renamed and populated from the userform.

Everything was working perfectly, until I realized I forgot to use Option Explicit. Now I am getting a Compile Error: Variable Not Defined on multiple ComboBox change events. It either highlights the Private Sub ComboBox1_Change or the TextBox.Value part of the code. I have 10 lines of the ComboBox change events but I only get the compile error on 5 of them.

The compile error only happens on the newly created sheet when excel is opened, never the master template sheet. Below is one of the ComboBox change events. I feel dumb, because I know there has to be something small I am missing, but I'm at a lose for what I am doing wrong. Especially because after accepting the errors, the worksheet will still function correctly.

Private Sub ComboBox1_Change()
    ToggleButton1.Caption = ComboBox1.Value
    Process1Box.Value = ComboBox1.Value & " - " & "#" & TextBox1.Value
    End Sub
    Also, I am using Excel 2013 at work, and at home I have 2007. I am getting the same error on both versions.

Thanks for the help.

If you rename the control on the sheet, you have to change the control's Name in the Code.
    I expect the student to do their homework and find all the errrors I leeve in.

Please take the time to read the Forum FAQ

VBAX Sage
    Quote Originally Posted by davis1118 View Post
    The toggle buttons, text boxes, and combo boxes on the new sheet then get renamed and populated from the userform.
    Do you mean 'Re-named' or 'Re-captioned'?

For example, in

ToggleButton1.Caption = ComboBox1.Value