Consulting

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: TabHelp - Can it be hidden?

  1. #1
    VBAX Regular
    Joined
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Leesburg
    Posts
    68
    Location

    TabHelp - Can it be hidden?

    I can create a 2010 custom ribbon and hide virtually any of the ribbon tabs, like TabView, but I cannot seem to make the useless TabHelp invisible. The user, of course, can manually customize their ribbon and hide that tab, but is it true that I cannot do this via XML like I can the other tabs?
    The TabHelp consumes ribbon real estate and provides no value, especially when the user can simply type in the "Tell me what you want to do" box to get help.
    (I am running Office 2016.)

  2. #2
    Moderator VBAX Wizard SamT's Avatar
    Joined
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Near Columbia
    Posts
    6,964
    Location
    Moderator Bump
    I always expect the student to do their homework and find all the errrors I leeve in.

    Please take the time to read the Forum FAQ

  3. #3
    VBAX Wizard
    Joined
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    6,755
    Location
    Quote Originally Posted by dbowlds View Post
    I can create a 2010 custom ribbon and hide virtually any of the ribbon tabs, like TabView, but I cannot seem to make the useless TabHelp invisible. The user, of course, can manually customize their ribbon and hide that tab, but is it true that I cannot do this via XML like I can the other tabs?
    The TabHelp consumes ribbon real estate and provides no value, especially when the user can simply type in the "Tell me what you want to do" box to get help.
    (I am running Office 2016.)
    I think it supposed to be hide-able, but everything I tried with CustomXML failed
    Paul

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    1. Use [CODE] ....[/CODE ] Tags for readability
    [CODE]PasteYourCodeHere[/CODE ] -- (or paste your code, select it, click [#] button)
    2. Upload an example
    Go Advanced / Attachments - Manage Attachments / Add Files / Select Files / Select the file(s)
    (multiple files can be selected while holding Ctrl key) / Upload Files / Done
    3. Mark the thread as [Solved] when you have an answer
    Thread Tools (on the top right corner, above the first message)
    4. Read the Forum FAQ, especially the part about cross-posting in other forums
    http://www.vbaexpress.com/forum/faq...._new_faq_item3

  4. #4
    VBAX Regular
    Joined
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Leesburg
    Posts
    68
    Location
    Me too. I wonder if this was an oversight on MS' part or intentional. Either way, it is annoying as that tab has no value. Sigh.

  5. #5
    VBAX Wizard
    Joined
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    6,755
    Location
    I Googled and found some Access examples that worked for TabHelp, some using the <backstage> section, but no luck

    I turned it off manually and checked C:\Users\<userid>\Daddy\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Office\Excel.officeUI

    to see how MS did it:

    <mso:tab idQ="mso:HelpTab" visible="false"/>
    </mso:tabs>
    </mso:ribbon>
    </mso:customUI>
    If you really wanted to, you could maybe try to use VBA to add the above to the file

    It's a text file, so you just need to see if it's there, and add it if it's not
    Paul

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    1. Use [CODE] ....[/CODE ] Tags for readability
    [CODE]PasteYourCodeHere[/CODE ] -- (or paste your code, select it, click [#] button)
    2. Upload an example
    Go Advanced / Attachments - Manage Attachments / Add Files / Select Files / Select the file(s)
    (multiple files can be selected while holding Ctrl key) / Upload Files / Done
    3. Mark the thread as [Solved] when you have an answer
    Thread Tools (on the top right corner, above the first message)
    4. Read the Forum FAQ, especially the part about cross-posting in other forums
    http://www.vbaexpress.com/forum/faq...._new_faq_item3

  6. #6
    VBAX Regular
    Joined
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Leesburg
    Posts
    68
    Location
    Thank you Paul!
    This line turned out to do the trick:
    <tab idQ="HelpTab" visible="false"/>
    The reason it was failing for me is MS was inconsistent in their naming conventions. All the other tabs are named "Tab***" versus "***Tab" except for this one evidently. For instance, TabHome is not HomeTab.
    Thanks again!
    Doug

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •