Consulting

Thread: Normal.dot?

VBAX Expert
    Normal.dot?

All

I have some code that i use in a number of different documents and I want to be able to call this code from a number of computers over a network and am wondering where the best place to store the code is?

I will need some code within each document I am using but because I want the document to open as quickly as possible was wondering if i could store a load of my macros somewhere else.

Does the Normal.dot get stored on each c drive or is it stored in a central location on a network?

Or do I need to write some kind of addin that i can then store on the network somewhere that i can then call

Can someone give me some guidance on the best approach please or point me in the direction of where I readup

Thanks

Gibbo

Hi Gibbo,

I have been working on a similar problem for the last few weeks: I am writing macros that I want to distribute to lots of different people on the same network. Although I am by no means an expert, what I intend to do is store the macros on the normal.dot template by using the macro organizer.

In my situation, the user's profile information is accessed from a central server (enabling them to logon to any computer) including the Normal.dot template. So if you modify the Normal Template on the central Office application data to include the macros, assuming that the user's default template being used is Normal.dot, then it should work. However, dont quote me on that!
    Sam

VBAX Expert

I ll give it a go

Gibbo

VBAX Wizard

1. Normal.dot should be kept as clean as possible, with a little macro code, AutoCorrect, AutoText as possible. Normal.dot gets corrupted easily. It isone of the first things trouble shooters do - delete normal.dot.

2. If you are trying to have a central normal.dot, you had better make sure the local one is taken care of! By default Word uses the normal.dot under each individual user's settings. That is: