Consulting

Thread: Create bookmarks automation

VBAX Regular
    Create bookmarks automation

Hello,
    I am a complete newbie with Ms Word VBA, so I would appreciatte your help with this ;

I do have literaly thousands of word documents to wich I have to insert bookmarks, therefor I would like to automate this procedure as much as posible. I can think of a couple of things
    ns

-when naming a bookmark, if it has more than one word can I allow the space character and automaticaly replace it by a hifen character (_)
    - after selecting the part of the text where the bookmark js to be created, can I replace that selection with "XXX", and automaticaly open the insert bookmark dialog window

I dont even know that this posible
    Any clues ?
    Last edited by cpampas; 12-26-2018 at 01:25 AM.

What is the purpose of this exercise? Without knowing what you are doing and why, it is impossible to make any sensible response to your question.
    If this is to be 'automated' what determines where the bookmarks would go?
    As bookmark names do not contain spaces, why would you try and name them with spaces only to remove the spaces later?
    If you are replacing texts with bookmarks that contain alternative texts, why not use content controls instead? You may then find http://www.gmayor.com/insert_content_control_addin.htm useful.
    Graham Mayor - MS MVP (Word) 2002-2019
    Visit my web site for more programming tips and ready made processes
    http://www.gmayor.com

VBAX Regular
    You are right, I should had explained it better.

Considering that there are so many documents (thousands) to be bookmarked, I just want to make it easier and faster for the person bookmarking the documents by automating some of the steps. Of course it is up to the user to decide where is the bookmark going to be placed, by selecting the text, let's say the text in my word template is :

this is a word document created by ________ (name of the person), who is our employee