Consulting

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Linking through code

  1. #1
    VBAX Regular
    Joined
    Nov 2018
    Posts
    41
    Location

    Linking through code

    Can we change linking with the subform through code? How?

  2. #2
    VBAX Guru
    Joined
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    2,953
    Location
    What do you mean by "linking"?
    Do you mean the Master/Child links with the mainform?

  3. #3
    VBAX Regular
    Joined
    Nov 2018
    Posts
    41
    Location
    Quote Originally Posted by OBP View Post
    What do you mean by "linking"?
    Do you mean the Master/Child links with the mainform?
    YES!

  4. #4
    VBAX Guru
    Joined
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    2,953
    Location
    It should be possible, but why would you want to?

  5. #5
    VBAX Regular
    Joined
    Nov 2018
    Posts
    41
    Location
    Quote Originally Posted by OBP View Post
    It should be possible, but why would you want to?
    I have 2 fields LNAME & FNAME. LNAME is linked to the subform which displays the corresponding address. But there are cases having no LNAME. In such a case I want the AFTER UPDATE event the FNAME to link with the subform to display the address.

  6. #6
    VBAX Guru
    Joined
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    2,953
    Location
    Sorry, but that is poor design.
    The master child link should be the same as the Key fields that link the tables, which should be a unique value, usually an Autonumber field or a custom designed value.

  7. #7
    VBAX Regular
    Joined
    Nov 2018
    Posts
    41
    Location
    Quote Originally Posted by OBP View Post
    Sorry, but that is poor design.
    The master child link should be the same as the Key fields that link the tables, which should be a unique value, usually an Autonumber field or a custom designed value.

    Thanks for your advice. GOD BLESS YOU!!!!!

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •