Consulting

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Challenging Problem - Group Two Fields and Concatenate

Question Challenging Problem - Group Two Fields and Concatenate

Hi all,

This is my first time posting to this forum for help! To start, I'll describe the situation, and then the problem.

Program: Access 2013

Database Schema:
    FootPrints ServiceCore 11.6
    https://communities.bmc.com/servlet/...ta%20Model.pdf
    Table: 13) Issue Assignment
    • Master1_Assignment
    • AssignmentType
    • Master1

Background:
    I am trying to replicate front-end reports pulled from a FootPrints ServiceCore 11.6 Database, to improve efficiency. This system, FootPrints, is what our company utilizes for managing IT tickets (Help Desk, networking, etc). The footprints front-end reporting system is Extremely finicky, sometimes it crashes while trying to pull reports and other times it takes 5 - 10 minutes to pull, and you can only do a month of data at a time. So far I have been able to replicate many of the calculated fields found in the CSV reports pulled from the front-end, except for the formatting of 1 key field.

The Problem:
    Among the various fields shown in the reports, one of the key fields I need to replicate is Assignees. This field indicates who the ticket is assigned to within IT and the FootPrints system; 1 ticket can have multiple assignees. In the FootPrints database Assignment information is stored in an Assignment table, and split up for each individual assignee (Shown below).

This is how it looks as shown from the database, approximately. (Apologies for censorship, the data contains employee PII I had to black out [Names and IDs])

As you can see in the examples above (hopefully), the format of the final product is [Team Name]: [Employee Name], [Employee Name]. [Team #2 Name] [CC: Email Addresses]