Consulting

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Need to delete a workbook

VBAX Regular
    Question Need to delete a workbook

Hi all - I'm fairly new to VBA and am struggling to work out how to get it to delete a workbook. I've discovered the KILL function, but this seems to be linked to knowing the path and filename, and I can't quite get my head round how to incorporate that in my VBA?!

Basically, I have a macro (SaveDocumentPending) that saves an Expenditure Form to an Approval Pending folder, using username_date_PendingApproval.xlsm. The Budget Holder then goes in and uses a different macro (SaveDocumentApproved) to save that file to an Approved Purchase folder using username_date_ApprovedExpenditure.xlsm

What I would like to do is have the SaveDocumentApproved macro delete the version of the file in the Approval Pending folder.

My code currently looks like this:
    Sub SaveDocumentApproved()
        Dim username As String
        Dim nowFormated As String
        Dim path As String
        Dim filename As String
        Dim extention As String

username = Environ("Username") & "_" 'gets the username
        nowFormated = CStr(Format(Date, "dd-mmm-yy")) 'or whatever format you like
        path = "M:\Budgets Family Centre Service\2019-20\Approved Expenditure" 'wherever you want to save the file
        filename = "_ApprovedExpenditure" 'final part of file name
        extention = ".xlsm" 'for example (with macros, else you have to change the FileFormat too)

ActiveWorkbook.SaveAs filename:=path & username & nowFormated & filename & extention, _
            FileFormat:=xlOpenXMLWorkbookMacroEnabled, CreateBackup:=False
        ActiveWorkbook.Close
    End Sub

I've attached a copy of the Expenditure Form as well - any help would be MASSIVELY appreciated!!

Many thanks!
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by Bob Phillips; 06-21-2019 at 08:20 AM. Reason: Added code tags

Distinguished Lord of VBAX VBAX Grand Master Bob Phillips's Avatar