Consulting

Thread: Import into Excel from Word file with multiple repeated Content Control tables

Import into Excel from Word file with multiple repeated Content Control tables

Hi all,

I'm new to VBA and I have spent a few days trying to trial and error something together from various threads and code snippets. I don't fully understand what I need to change in order to get the code to do what I need it to. I need to be able to pull data from a word file which contains multiple repeated content control tables (see testfile.docx), which I would like to pull into Excel in the following format:

Value A Value B Value C Value D
    A1 B1 C1 D1
    A2 B2 C2 D2
    A3 B3 C3 D3
    A4 B4 C4 D4
    A5 B5 C5 D5

The above is dummy data but the format is the same. The number of tables in the actual Word file is not fixed, but I'm looking at approximately 600 tables each time I need to run this process. They'll all have the same number of values (9 - we're using 4 just for the sake of this example) and some of those values might be blank, in which case I just want a blank Excel cell. There's nothing special about the Excel document, it's just a new worksheet each time I run this process.

The problem I'm having is that I can't get the VBA to iterate onto the next set of tables. In fact, it's only generating one row of data from the 5 tables in testfile.docx, and the values are not even from the same table. In an earlier attempt I did manage to get multiple rows, but it was just a repeat of the same table over and over again. I suspect that I might be going about this entirely the wrong way and I've made a complete mess. I would be grateful for a steer.