Consulting

Thread: Copy certain cells to new sheet based upon a different cell?

VBAX Newbie
    Copy certain cells to new sheet based upon a different cell?

Hi all, sincerely appreciate the resources and people here. Please forgive my noobness.

I have a master employee excel file that has all of their data spread across multiple columns (sheet name is EmployeeList). I'm trying to write a macro that updates Sheet2 in the same workbook that shows all employees on the list with a hire date of at least one year ago.

- In the EmployeeList sheet their Department is in Column A, last and first names are in columns B and C and their hire date is in Column I.
    - I would like Sheet2 to show their Department, last and first names, and hire date in columns A, B, C and D respectively.
    - I would also like to be able to rerun the macro at various points throughout the year that adds names to Sheet2 that have achieved their one year anniversary and also removes names that are no longer listed in the EmployeeList sheet.
    - I need to use columns E and on in Sheet2 for personal notations on each employee, so hoping any updates to sheet2 will just insert a line for the new additions (or delete the whole line for ex-employees) so that the already existing adjacent data will be on the correct employee.

Any thoughts here? I could upload a basic copy of the employee list with all sensitive details deleted if it would help. Been searching for days trying to figure this out and finally had to break down and ask for help.

Thanks in advance for any assistance you can provide!

CJ

I think that doing it all on the data sheet would suffice. Use AutoFilter. Add two helper columns. For the main filter column, put this formula for row 2: =DATEDIF(A2,NOW(),"Y")>=1
    Then add your comments column.

Or, you can add the two columns and use a macro to do an Advanced Filter that copies filtered data by the DATEDIF() column.

VBAX Newbie