Consulting

Thread: Posting information from a form to a selected field in a table

VBAX Newbie
    Posting information from a form to a selected field in a table

Hello all,

I am fairly new to access(at least programming in it) and was curious to pick your brains for the most effective solution to a problem

I work for an office where I am trying to keep records specific to individuals easily manageable and viewable

Basically I have a table that Identifies individuals through a number and their name and I want the form I am creating to be able to open a file dialog box to locate a particular PDF file that contains identifying information to that individual. I then want to be able to save that file location to the table and finally be able to view their entry in said table in a subform datasheet view after querying that individual, so that the location that is saved can just be clicked on and opens the pdf in the associated viewer on the users computer. I hope that I am explaining this well any clarification or questions please feel free to ask. Basically I am just looking for some guidance on the most efficient way to make this all work.

Thanks so much!!
    Brian

VBAX Guru
    So, you need to open Explorer to display pdf files in a folder?
    Is the folder always the same?
    When the user selects the pdf file you want to store it's path in the table.
    Does there need to be some kind of verification that they open the correct pdf file?
    You then want to be able to open the pdf file to view the data.

What version of Access are you working with?

VBAX Newbie
    The folder will not always be the same as their will be subdirectories. The Drive specification will always be the same as the database will be saved and run off of an external USB hard-drive which will be the same Drive as the PDF Files. There does not need to be a verification that they open the correct pdf file.

I am working with Access 2013

VBAX Guru