Consulting

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: How to put the "Merge to Adobe PDF" Icon on Word

  1. #1
    VBAX Newbie
    Joined
    Apr 2020
    Posts
    4
    Location

    How to put the "Merge to Adobe PDF" Icon on Word

    Hi Everyone,

    I would like to put the "Merge to Adobe PDF" Icon on Word inside the "Mailings".
    I have the "Adobe Reader DC" installed on my PC. I need any other program install for that ???
    I try to go in Word in "Options" - "Supplements" , but i don't have any add-in (about PDF) to choose.

    I send you a photo of my "Word" toolbar inside the "Mailings" where my last icon is "Complete and Merge" and another photo of the toolbar that I would like to have with "Merge to adobe PDF"

    Many thanks for your help !!
    (Sorry about my bad english)
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Knowledge Base Approver VBAX Guru macropod's Avatar
    Joined
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    4,125
    Location
    The 'Merge to Adobe' tool is part of Adobe Acrobat Pro; it does not come with the free reader.


    If you want to generate a PDF from a Word mailmerge, simply save the output document in PDF format. Alternatively, if you're wanting to generate a separate PDF per merge record, see Send Mailmerge Output to Individual Files in the Mailmerge Tips and Tricks thread at: https://www.msofficeforums.com/mail-...ps-tricks.html
    Cheers
    Paul Edstein
    [Fmr MS MVP - Word]

  3. #3
    VBAX Newbie
    Joined
    Apr 2020
    Posts
    4
    Location
    I install the Adobe Acrobat Pro, but still don't have the "Merge to Adobe PDF" Icon on Word inside the "Mailings". I canīt understand why !

  4. #4
    VBAX Newbie
    Joined
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    3
    Location
    Hi!

    First, go in your Program Files directory if you have the "PDFMWord.dll". It should be PDFMaker in the Adobe directory.

    If so, then in Word, go in the Option Windows

    I'll show you a print scren of the window you must click in cause I don't know the translation in English but this is where you will be able to add the AddOn.

    PrintScreen1.jpg

  5. #5
    VBAX Newbie
    Joined
    Apr 2020
    Posts
    4
    Location
    1.JPG2.JPG3.JPG4.JPG
    Hi Again,
    Yes, I have the "PDFMWord.dll".
    But in "Word", "Complements", I don't have the "Acrobat PDFMaker Office COM Addin".
    If I try do add it and go to the directory where he is, c:\Program Files (x86)\Adobe\Acrobat DC\PDFMaker\Office\
    PDFMWord.dll, open a window tell me that is not a valid Complement of Office
    I will try to send you 4 photos about what I mean.
    Thanks again for your time.

  6. #6
    Is the version of Acrobat that you have compatible with your Office version? You would need to ask Adobe, but compatibility issues have been a recurring theme with Acrobat and Office.

    You may like to considerhttps://www.gmayor.com/MergeAndSplit.htmor for merge to e-mail https://www.gmayor.com/ManyToOne.htm
    Graham Mayor - MS MVP (Word) 2002-2019
    Visit my web site for more programming tips and ready made processes
    http://www.gmayor.com

  7. #7
    VBAX Newbie
    Joined
    Apr 2020
    Posts
    4
    Location
    Quote Originally Posted by gmayor View Post
    Is the version of Acrobat that you have compatible with your Office version? You would need to ask Adobe, but compatibility issues have been a recurring theme with Acrobat and Office.

    You may like to considerhttps://www.gmayor.com/MergeAndSplit.htmor for merge to e-mail https://www.gmayor.com/ManyToOne.htm


    I understand now as someone give me the information, that ADOBE ask me to install in a folder x86 what means that is for Office 32 bits. The Office of 64 bits (mine) don't let execute add ins of 32 bits.
    Anyway is strange that i have the add in on my excel , power point and Outlook. Only in WOrd I don't have it. I don't now if I can do anything to work well in Word. (Sorry about my english!)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •