Consulting

Thread: VBA Chain texts from multiple rows with multiple column conditions into one cell

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    VBAX Newbie
    VBA Chain texts from multiple rows with multiple column conditions into one cell

Dear Forum,

I am new to VBA express, but have already done some VBA coding now and then over the last couple of years. Normally I always find usefull tips to write my codes according to forum suggestions of other user's. Now I have a really complex problem, which I don't get my head around, as it needs many steps, and my head creates an overflow of so many loops.

My Excel version is 2010.

Situation:
    - I have a standard report (extracted from SAP, so the headers always look the same), that gives me a text description to multiple "products" in DE, EN and FR languages, but in different rows and not in columns, i.e. one product has a German description with 3 rows, so for example DE1= "Tollstes", DE2= "Produkt", DE3= "der Welt"
    - To illustrate, what I mean, I created a screenshot, see attachments. The source data is in Sheet2 and my output sheet is Sheet1.

My approach:
    1) First loop (For i=2 to 4) to identify the Material ID, which is in Sheet1 column A --> save this in a variable called "Produktnummer"
    2) Second loop to search for "Produktnummer" in Sheet 2 to identify first line of Material texts in Sheet 2.
    2) Third loop to search for the first language letter within each Produktnummer in sheet2, column G --> i.e. search for "D", then for "E", then for "F" (D, E, F)
    3) 4th loop to search for the number of lines within each language in sheet 2, column I --> i.e. search for 1, 2, 3