Consulting

Thread: Need help with Application.FileSearch

VBAX Newbie
    Need help with Application.FileSearch

HI all,

I have another request for help on this old thread with the same problem. I am not a VBA coder, but I have messed with code that has been written for me, and I have now run into a hard wall with the Application.FileSearch problem. For years after MS removed this in Office2007, I just maintained an old version (Office 2003) on a computer to be able to run this and generate the output. That is not feasible anymore and I am looking for a permanent fix. I think this is a bit of complex coding, and I could not apply the solutions found in this thread on my own.

The Access database is for the management of photographs of whales. There are many forms that are used to manipulate and use the data. In the particular form in question, you are importing photos and metadata into the database, and you provide two key inputs:

Search directory location - this is folder hierarchy with many subfolders where there are photos of whales, and excel files of the metadata for the photos in each subfolder. The Excel file has a column that indicates whether a specific photo (of 100s in the file and subfolder) and its metadata should be imported into the Excel database.

Photo Directory output location - this is the folder where all of the photos that are selected for input are copied.

Upon executing the process, the code searches through the Search Directory structure for the excel files, when it finds one it searches within the Excel file for the records that need to be input, and whenever it finds one, it copies the photo from the subdirectory to the proper destination folder, and the metadata for the photo into a Table (IDPhotosIMPORT), and does this for each record within the excel file, and then goes on to search for the next excel file.