Consulting

Thread: VBA Find string and add hyperlink

VBAX Regular
    VBA Find string and add hyperlink

Hey, first of all, I hope this falls under Excel category.

Version: Running on the Microsoft 365 MSO.

What I want to do: I have several local HTML text files in a single directory. I wish to find all certain strings within those files and add hyperlinks to each of those strings. Hyperlinks will lead to other files.

This macro will be written in Excel and in there I have combined 2 columns for what I think are necessary. Column A for Hyperlinks.Add Anchors. These would be the strings I want to find. Data in column A would be strictly numbers and letters e.g. "ABC123ZYX". Column B for filepaths as the address for hyperlinks.

I have very little to none experience with VBA, so I can not provide useful code. However I can provide the code I have so far and how I think it should be done.

Any and all help is deeply appreciated.

Sub AddHyperlinks()Dim objFSO As Object
    Dim objFil As Object
    Dim objFil2 As Object
    Dim StrFileName As String
    Dim StrFolder As String
    Dim strAll As String

Set objFSO = CreateObject("scripting.filesystemobject") 'enable microsoft scripting runtime
    StrFolder = "C:\...\" 'choose folder to go through
    StrFileName = Dir(StrFolder & "*.html") 'choose extension to edit HTML/DOCM

Do While StrFileName <> vbNullString 'looping through the files 
        Set objFil = objFSO.opentextfile(StrFolder & StrFileName) 'Set objFil as a TextStream object that can be used to access the file
        strAll = objFil.readall    'returns one long string containing everything from the looped file
        objFil.Close    'closing the TextStream document
        Set objFil2 = objFSO.createtextfile(StrFolder & StrFileName)    'Creates a specified file name and returns a TextStream object 
        For i = 2 To Range("A" & Rows.Count).End(xlUp).Row    'Loop through the rows

'Loop through all the words and find that in the opened document