Consulting

Thread: Data consolidation from multiple PDFs to excel

Data consolidation from multiple PDFs to excel

Dear readers,

I created the profile here today because I’m completely lost with power query. I have some beginner knowledge when it comes to VBA, but this problem just stumped me…

I would appreciate any help or an advice on where can I learn more about this topic

Essentially, what I’m trying to do is: I have a folder with PDF documents, that every morning I name with todays date and giving them a unique identifier (9 files a day) so they would look something like this 04.17.2022 – 0001, 04.17.2022 – 0002, and so on, what I’m trying to do is have these 9 documents import under 1 consolidated table.

To be honest I don’t know if its even possible to have excel find the 9 documents of a given date in a large folder and consolidate them…

Thank you for reading,
    Sincerely,

Knowledge Base Approver VBAX Wizard p45cal's Avatar
    Say a bit more about what you data you want to get from the .pdf files, how you want it arranged (mock up an Excel file of what you want to see and attach it here?), but most important of all is to attach 2 or 3 .pdf files here so we can see how consistent they are and how easy/difficult it is to extract data from.
    p45cal
    Everyone: If I've helped and you can't be bothered to acknowledge it, I can't be bothered to look at further posts from you.

Hey, thank you for your reply,

I'm sorry I haven't responded earlier, I was trying to figure it out myself, but I kept failing...
    I found a few YouTube videos that pointed me in the right direction

So, first probably with format, on average I receive 5-9 PDF's a day they are exactly the same in terms of format: they have 9 columns, number of rows vary from 50 to 300. PDFs have a varying number of pages and each page has the first row with the names of each column. I've attached a sample of the combined PDF document which consists of 3 PDF's of the sample report.