Consulting

Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: How to amend Macro to consider all table columns instead of just the first

  1. #1
    VBAX Newbie
    Joined
    Aug 2022
    Posts
    3
    Location

    How to amend Macro to consider all table columns instead of just the first

    I'm trying to set up a macro in Microsoft Word (Windows 10) that will delete any row of a table containing the word "INTERNAL".

    I found some code online that I've tweaked a little and manage to get working when I run the macro, but only if the word "INTERNAL" is in the first column:


    Sub DIR()
    ' DeleteRowswithSpecificValue Macro
    Sub DeleteRows()
    Dim TargetText As String
    Dim oRow As Row
    If Selection.Information(wdWithInTable) = False Then Exit Sub
    TargetText = "INTERNAL"
    For Each oRow In Selection.Tables(1).Rows
        If oRow.Cells(1).Range.Text = TargetText & vbCr & Chr(7) Then oRow.Delete
    Next oRow
    End Sub
    How do I amend the above so that it either checks all columns, or alternatively, so that I can define which column it is checking (in this instance, it's only column 4 of the table that I'm actually interested in)?

    I've tried changing each of the (1)s mentioned to (4)s, but that only causes errors instead.
    I'm completely new to using VBA, so any help would be greatly appreciated.

    Thank you.
    Last edited by Aussiebear; 08-06-2022 at 02:11 PM.

  2. #2
    VBAX Sage
    Joined
    Apr 2007
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    8,711
    Location
    Just a quick guess

     If oRow.Cells(4).Range.Text = TargetText & vbCr & Chr(7) Then oRow.Delete
    But I'd start deleting bottoms to top

    Sub DeleteRows()
    Dim TargetText As String
    Dim oRow As Row
    Dim i as Long
    If Selection.Information(wdWithInTable) = False Then Exit Sub
    TargetText = "INTERNAL"
    With Selection.Tables(1)
    For i = Rows.Count to 1 Step -1
      With .Rows(i)
        If .Cells(4).Range.Text = TargetText & vbCr & Chr(7) Then .Delete
      End with
    Next i
    End With
    End Sub
    Last edited by macropod; 08-07-2022 at 10:42 PM.
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Paul


    Remember: Tell us WHAT you want to do, not HOW you think you want to do it

    1. Use [CODE] ....[/CODE ] Tags for readability
    [CODE]PasteYourCodeHere[/CODE ] -- (or paste your code, select it, click [#] button)
    2. Upload an example
    Go Advanced / Attachments - Manage Attachments / Add Files / Select Files / Select the file(s) / Upload Files / Done
    3. Mark the thread as [Solved] when you have an answer
    Thread Tools (on the top right corner, above the first message)
    4. Read the Forum FAQ, especially the part about cross-posting in other forums
    http://www.vbaexpress.com/forum/faq...._new_faq_item3

  3. #3
    VBAX Newbie
    Joined
    Aug 2022
    Posts
    3
    Location
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul_Hossler View Post
    Just a quick guess

     If oRow.Cells(4).Range.Text = TargetText & vbCr & Chr(7) Then oRow.Delete

    I've tried changing the Cells(1) to Cells(4) but I get the error message:

    "Run-time error '5941':

    The requested member of the collection does not exist."


    It seemed like the logical choice to me too, but no luck. Thanks for the suggestion though.

  4. #4
    VBAX Newbie
    Joined
    Aug 2022
    Posts
    3
    Location
    But I'd start deleting bottoms to top

    Sub DeleteRows()
    Dim TargetText As String
    Dim oRow As Row
    Dim i as Long
    If Selection.Information(wdWithInTable) = False Then Exit Sub
    TargetText = "INTERNAL"
    With Selection.Tables(1)
    For i = Rows.Count to 1 Step -1With .Rows(i)
        If .Cells(4).Range.Text = TargetText & vbCr & Chr(7) Then .Delete
    End with
    Next i
    End With
    End Sub
    I tried this code instead. It's come back with:

    "Compile error: Syntax error" and appears to be highlighting the line: "Sub DeleteRows()"

    I've checked the macro is named 'DeleteRows' to match. I'm not sure what else to try.

    Thanks.

    Edit: I think it's the line:

    For i = Rows.Count to 1 Step -1With .Rows(i)
    Causing the Syntax error.

  5. #5
    Knowledge Base Approver VBAX Guru macropod's Avatar
    Joined
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    4,435
    Location
    Missing line break in original code corrected.
    Cheers
    Paul Edstein
    [Fmr MS MVP - Word]

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •