Consulting

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Count Rows

VBAX Master
    Count Rows

One last thing everyone, I added the for loop in but since the file can sometimes be very small and sometimes it can be very large I put in:

[VBA]
    For I = 1 to 65556
    [/VBA]

This way it always looks at the whole file. I would like to speed it up since I am using that code in a few times. I know it is possible to count the amount of rows and then use that number to replace 65556 but I don't know how. Sorry, if I am being a pest but I am a beginner at VBA and I have 2 books on it that are good but they are both missing alot. If anyone can recommend an excellent book that has a lot of VBA code in it that would help also.

Daniel

Distinguished Lord of VBAX VBAX Grand Master Bob Phillips's Avatar

For i = 1 To Cells(Rows.Count,"A").End(xlUp).Row

[/vba]

VBAX Master
    Ok after I count the rows I would like to use it to specify the range from the 1st cell to the last one it counted. How can I do this?

Daniel

Administrator
    Chat VP
    Ok after I count the rows I would like to use it to specify the range from the 1st cell to the last one it counted. How can I do this?

Daniel
    [vba]
    Option Explicit

Sub A()
    Range(Cells(1, "A").End(xlDown), Cells(Rows.Count, "A").End(xlUp)).Select
    End Sub
    [/vba]OR [vba]
    Option Explicit

Sub B()
    Range(Range("A1").End(xlDown), Range("A" & Rows.Count).End(xlUp)).Select
    End Sub
    [/vba]
    You know you're really in trouble when the light at the end of the tunnel turns out to be the headlight of a train hurtling towards you

The major part of getting the right answer lies in asking the right question...

Made your code more readable, use VBA tags (this automatically inserts [vba] at the start of your code, and [/vba ] at the end of your code) | Help those helping you by marking your thread solved when it is.

VBAX Master