Consulting

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Templates verses Forms/Document

VBAX Regular
    Question Templates verses Forms/Document

I am sorry that my terminology is off.

I have created a template ( why, I don't know). I want people to do the following

1) open it.
    2)fill out the fields
    3) Press a command button, that will save it to a different location (after the form has been checked to see if all the required fields are completed)
    4) Close the original.
    5) not change the original.

Please advise as to the best way about this. I am a VB programmer trying set up a word form.

Cheers,
    Aaron
    Last edited by Merkava; 09-17-2006 at 01:32 AM.

A Word Template (a .dot file) is the correct 'tool'. Double clicking on a template then causes a new document based on the template (essentially a copy of the template) to be created and leaves the template itself unchanged.

Do you have the Form set up or do you need any specific help with it?
    Enjoy,
    Tony

---------------------------------------------------------------
    Give a man a fish and he'll eat for a day.
    Teach him how to fish and he'll sit in a boat and drink beer all day.

I'm (slowly) building my own site: www.WordArticles.com

VBAX Regular

I have made a form, but there are several problems:

1) populating Comboboxes, my VB training says "use an array when the form loads you populate the combobox. This does not seem appropriate here. I'm not using a DB. My main goal is that there be little "intervention" from the user.

2) When I save the form to a new location (without changing the template), I want to use VBA to use the NETSEND command to notify the appropriate person that they have a form to tend to.

I think that these to "hurdles" are large enough for now.

TIA

Cheers,
    Aaron

There are two types of controls you can use in Word.