Consulting

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Solved: Record Locked Error 3188

Solved: Record Locked Error 3188

http://www.vbaexpress.com/forum/showthread.php?t=8716

This relates to a post that I thought I had solved earlier. But for some reason has stopped working now.

I have a table that stores individual notes. These notes make up memos related to property aquisition. Now the problem is that it works for some and not for others. The Memo max size is 65,536 characters. So I don't think there is a problem with transfering too much information and I have yet to really find a pattern.

I have the function that I posted in the previous one but since it hadn't got looked at since I last posted it I thought I would try and draw some attention to it. I attached the error message.

What produces this error is trying to overwrite the Memo Field in tblProperties.

Any ideas?
    Someday I'll understand everything...
    Even then...I'll still pretend I'm a beginner.

Ok. Other possible solution. If someone can help me write a query that pulls all the individual notes from the tblPropertiesUpdates and list them in some concatenated order for a report I will scrap the intermediary Memo control which is the current source for the report.

Okay I figured out a way to update the memo but I have to close the main form and then re-open it. I thought that would be easy enough since I can just do DoCmd.Open formname, , , , ID= Me.ID... well that creates a filter and opens the form with only one record.

Is there a way to open a form and then move to a specified record?

I posted this same issue on another forum and they said that the best way to update a memo type object would be to use ADO objects. Is there a specific way to set up an ADO object that references the recordset? I'm not sure I understand the one that Microsoft posts on their help site.

VBAX Guru