Consulting

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Find instances of certain word within a textbox and make bold

  1. #1
    VBAX Tutor
    Joined
    Aug 2020
    Location
    Hampshire
    Posts
    262
    Location

    Find instances of certain word within a textbox and make bold

    I'm hoping that someone might be able to help. The submacro needs to accept a word from the user, then search TextBox3 for instances of that word, then make them bold.

    (I'm trying to modify code that I have used in Excel)

    Private Sub btnSearchText_Click()
    
        ' Provide option to search for specific words and make them bold
    
        Dim sFind  As String
        Dim rTextBox  As Range
        Dim rng    As Range
        Dim lCount As Long
        Dim iLen   As Integer
        Dim iFind  As Integer
        Dim iStart As Integer
        
        On Error Resume Next
        Set rng = ActiveDocument.UsedRange. _
            TextBox3
        On Error GoTo ErrHandler
        If rng Is Nothing Then
            
            MsgBox "There is no text", vbExclamation + vbOKOnly, "Triage Hub"
            
            GoTo ExitHandler
        End If
        
        sFind = Application.InputBox("What do you want to make BOLD?", "Triage Hub", "", Type:=2)
        
        If sFind = "" Then
            
            MsgBox "No text was requested", vbExclamation + vbOKOnly, "Triage Hub"
            
            GoTo ExitHandler
        End If
        
        iLen = Len(sFind)
        lCount = 0
        
        For Each rTextBox In rng
            With rTextBox
                iFind = InStr(.Value, sFind)
                Do While iFind > 0
                    .Characters(iFind, iLen).Font.Bold = True
                    lCount = lCount + 1
                    iStart = iFind + iLen
                    iFind = InStr(iStart, .Value, sFind)
                Loop
            End With
        Next
        
        If lCount = 0 Then
            
            MsgBox "There were no occurrences of" & _
                   vbCrLf & "' " & sFind & " '" & _
                   vbCrLf & "to make bold.", vbExclamation + vbOKOnly, "Triage Hub"
            
        ElseIf lCount = 1 Then
            
            MsgBox "One occurrence of" & _
                   vbCrLf & "' " & sFind & " '" & _
                   vbCrLf & "was made bold.", vbInformation + vbOKOnly, "Triage Hub"
            
        Else
            
            MsgBox lCount & " occurrences of" & _
                   vbCrLf & "' " & sFind & " '" & _
                   vbCrLf & "were made bold.", vbInformation + vbOKOnly, "Triage Hub"
            
        End If
        
    ExitHandler:
        Set rCell = Nothing
        Set rng = Nothing
        Exit Sub
        
    ErrHandler:
        MsgBox Err.Description
        Resume ExitHandler
        
    End Sub

  2. #2
    As you have probably gathered Word and Excel VBA have differences. The following will do what you require with 'Text Box 3' The second macro is to confirm the names of the text boxes.
    Private Sub btnSearchText_Click()
    'Graham Mayor - https://www.gmayor.com - Last updated - 18 Feb 2021
    ' Provide option to search for specific words in a text box and make them bold
    Dim sFind As String
    Dim oShape As Shape
    Dim bShape As Boolean
    Dim oRng As Range
    Dim lCount As Long
        On Error Resume Next
        For Each oShape In ActiveDocument.Shapes
            If oShape.Type = 17 Then
                If oShape.Name = "Text Box 3" Then
                    bShape = True
                    Exit For
                End If
            End If
        Next oShape
        If bShape = False Then
            MsgBox "There is no Text Box 3", vbExclamation + vbOKOnly, "Triage Hub"
            GoTo ExitHandler
        End If
        Set oRng = oShape.TextFrame.TextRange
        If oShape.TextFrame.HasText = False Then
            MsgBox "There is no text in Text Box 3", vbExclamation + vbOKOnly, "Triage Hub"
            GoTo ExitHandler
            MsgBox oRng.Text, vbExclamation + vbOKOnly, "Triage Hub"
            GoTo ExitHandler
        End If
        sFind = InputBox("What do you want to make BOLD?", "Triage Hub")
        If sFind = "" Then
            MsgBox "No text was requested", vbExclamation + vbOKOnly, "Triage Hub"
            GoTo ExitHandler
        End If
        lCount = 0
        With oRng.Find
            Do While .Execute(findText:=sFind)
                oRng.Font.Bold = True
                lCount = lCount + 1
                oRng.Collapse 0
            Loop
        End With
        If lCount = 0 Then
            MsgBox "There were no occurrences of" & _
                   vbCrLf & "' " & sFind & " '" & _
                   vbCrLf & "to make bold.", vbExclamation + vbOKOnly, "Triage Hub"
        ElseIf lCount = 1 Then
            MsgBox "One occurrence of" & _
                   vbCrLf & "' " & sFind & " '" & _
                   vbCrLf & "was made bold.", vbInformation + vbOKOnly, "Triage Hub"
        Else
            MsgBox lCount & " occurrences of" & _
                   vbCrLf & "' " & sFind & " '" & _
                   vbCrLf & "were made bold.", vbInformation + vbOKOnly, "Triage Hub"
        End If
    ExitHandler:
        Set oRng = Nothing
        Set oShape = Nothing
        Exit Sub
    ErrHandler:
        MsgBox Err.Description
        Resume ExitHandler
    End Sub
    
    
    Sub test()
    Dim oShape As Shape
        For Each oShape In ActiveDocument.Shapes
            oShape.Select
            MsgBox oShape.Type & vbCr & oShape.Name
        Next oShape
    End Sub
    Graham Mayor - MS MVP (Word) 2002-2019
    Visit my web site for more programming tips and ready made processes
    http://www.gmayor.com

  3. #3
    VBAX Tutor
    Joined
    Aug 2020
    Location
    Hampshire
    Posts
    262
    Location
    Thanks for looking at this one, Graham!

    I have indeed noticed that there are lots of differences between VBA for Word and Excel. From a layperson's point of view I can understand that certain things will be specific to one or the other i.e. cells = Excel (or tables in Word), paragraphs = Word, vLookup = Excel, but the way that one formulates the code would appear on the face of it to be different?


    My bad, I didn't explain properly that the TextBox3 was actually on the UserForm.

    At the moment I'm getting the "There is no Text Box 3" message, when clicking the button on the UserForm.

    Thanks.
    Steve

  4. #4
    Userform textboxes cannot adopt text formatting - they are as their name suggests text boxes. You can output the text entered into a userform text box to the document and format that, but if you have such a userform in Word, then why not add another text box instead of using the input box, and why not add a label to the userform to display the count. e.g. based on your earlier code something like the following. This writes the value of TextBox3 to the cursor position in the document, then formats the word from TextBox4 in the inserted text as bold. While this is included as a possibility it's not an approach I would advocate without knowing more about what you are trying to do. In any case I wouldn't have a button on the form to do this. I would include the formatting in the output from the userform as a whole.

    Private Sub btnSearchText_Click()
    ' Provide option to search for specific words in a text box and make them bold
    Dim oRng As Range, oFind As Range
    Dim lCount As Long
        If TextBox3.Text = "" Then
            MsgBox "There is no text in TextBox 3", vbExclamation + vbOKOnly, "Triage Hub"
            TextBox3.SetFocus
            GoTo ExitHandler
        End If
        If TextBox4.Text = "" Then
            MsgBox "There is no text in TextBox 4", vbExclamation + vbOKOnly, "Triage Hub"
            TextBox4.SetFocus
            GoTo ExitHandler
        End If
    
    
        Set oRng = Selection.Range
        oRng.Text = TextBox3.Text
        oRng.Select
        Set oFind = Selection.Range
    
    
        lCount = 0
        With oFind.Find
            Do While .Execute(findText:=TextBox4.Text)
                If Not oFind.InRange(oRng) Then Exit Do
                oFind.Font.Bold = True
                lCount = lCount + 1
                oRng.Collapse 0
            Loop
        End With
        If lCount = 0 Then
            Label1.Caption = "There were no occurrences of" & _
                             vbCrLf & "' " & TextBox4.Text & " '" & _
                             vbCrLf & "to make bold."
        ElseIf lCount = 1 Then
            Label1.Caption = "One occurrence of" & _
                             vbCrLf & "' " & TextBox4.Text & " '" & _
                             vbCrLf & "was made bold."
        Else
            Label1.Caption = lCount & " occurrences of" & _
                             vbCrLf & "' " & TextBox4.Text & " '" & _
                             vbCrLf & "were made bold."
        End If
    ExitHandler:
        Set oRng = Nothing
        Exit Sub
    ErrHandler:
        MsgBox Err.Description
        Resume ExitHandler
    End Sub
    Graham Mayor - MS MVP (Word) 2002-2019
    Visit my web site for more programming tips and ready made processes
    http://www.gmayor.com

  5. #5
    VBAX Tutor
    Joined
    Aug 2020
    Location
    Hampshire
    Posts
    262
    Location
    You are absolutely right, Graham. Thinking about it, the counting instances thing was a hangover from the Excel code and is not relevant for this Word template.

    Searching for multiple words to make bold might be required (possibly using a comma to separate each word?). Although there will also be instances when no words are required to be made bold at all.

    I've added a separate Textbox for entering the words and removed the button and placed the code inside the 'Enter' button code, so that this can run in one operation when the UserForm has been filled out as required by the inputter.

    I've uploaded my document too, which I should've done in the first instance.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  6. #6
    VBAX Tutor
    Joined
    Aug 2020
    Location
    Hampshire
    Posts
    262
    Location
    Still been trying to get this to work. Tried to implement a Split function to utilise a comma as a separator for multiple word searching in TextBox9.

    Getting a compile error: argument not optional.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  7. #7
    VBAX Tutor
    Joined
    Aug 2020
    Location
    Hampshire
    Posts
    262
    Location
    Stripped out most of the extra code so that I could focus on the Split function.

    Getting an 'argument not optional' here :-

    With oFind.Find
            Do While .Execute(findText:=TextBox9.Text)
                If Not oFind.InRange = Split(oRng, ",") Then Exit Do
                oFind.Font.Bold = True
    
                oRng.Collapse 0
            Loop
        End With
    Need to keep in mind that although requiring the option to find one or more words, there will be occassions when there will be none to find.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  8. #8
    The code is a bit of a mishmash of techniques. Frankly I would replace all the bookmarks with content controls - easy using https://www.gmayor.com/insert_content_control_addin.htm
    I have done that in your document. It is then a simple matter to fill the controls from your assorted userform controls.
    If you want to search for the items in your list then you need to loop through the list (see attached).
    I would recommend that you save the document as a template and create new documents from it.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Graham Mayor - MS MVP (Word) 2002-2019
    Visit my web site for more programming tips and ready made processes
    http://www.gmayor.com

  9. #9
    VBAX Tutor
    Joined
    Aug 2020
    Location
    Hampshire
    Posts
    262
    Location
    Graham, firstly very many thanks for the help and guidance.

    I'm still learning and always keen to adopt and try new techniques. I certainly appreciate the professional guidance from all MS MVP programmers!

    I agree that my original form was a mishmash and was intending it to end up using Content Controls. My first foray into VBA was using Bookmarks, although #gmaxey soon put me right on that score and nudged me into the right direction with Content Control. As you mention on your website about Content Control, MS don't make it exactly easy to implement, despite its clear advantages over bookmarks.

    I'll certainly be checking out your content control plugin. I'm assuming that you place your cursor at the intended location on the document and then fill in the relevant boxes?

    Thank you once again!

    Steve

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •